December 12th, 2017

New U of L scholarship to honour Faculty of Education founders

By Martin, Tijana on June 13, 2017.

Tijana Martin

Lethbridge Herald

This year, the University of Lethbridge is celebrating its 50th anniversary and to celebrate, it’s honouring the work of Faculty of Education founders through a new scholarship – the Founding Faculty Awards.

Beginning in the upcoming fall semester, a first-year student in each of the 11 subject area majors will received a $500 Founding Faculty Award.

The Founding Faculty Awards were created to honour the contributions of Harold Skolrood, Arthur Loewen, Dorothy Lampard, Russell Leskiw, Doug Petherbridge, Gordon Campbell and Aubrey Earl, who helped create the Faculty of Education.

“These respected educators built a solid foundation for the Faculty of Education and it’s thanks to their efforts that we have one of the strongest education programs in the country,” said Faculty of Education Dean Craig Loewen, son of Art, in a press release.

The Faculty of Education has blossomed over the past 50 years and more than 10,000 students have graduated with a Bachelor of Education.

In 1967, there were just 267 students enrolled in the department, now the nationally renowned program has more than 700 students enrolled.

“In establishing this scholarship, we wanted to honour their hard work and commitment to helping students become teachers of excellence and the educational leaders of tomorrow,” Loewen added.

Those who are interested in donating to the awards can do so at

Follow @TMartinHerald on Twitter

Share this story:
You have 7 free stories left to read this month. Subscribe Now & get unlimited access

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.