December 15th, 2017

Senator’s Awards honour area volunteers

By Mabell, Dave on July 4, 2017.

Dave Mabell

Lethbridge Herald

Canada Day brought additional recognition to some of Alberta’s long-serving volunteers. Senator Doug Black named more than 200 women and men from across the province as recipients of the Senator’s Contribution Awards.

Former Lethbridge mayor David Carpenter was this city’s recipient, along with the city’s recently retired community and social development manager, Diane Randell.

Other southern Albertans saluted, as listed by community:

Cardston County: Broyce Jacobs, Ben Walter; Crowsnest Pass: Fred Bradley

Towns – Claresholm: Marcus Heck, Jason Hemmaway; Coaldale: Doreen Lloyd, Briane Simpson; Coalhurst: Kristine Cassie, Barbara Edgecombe-Green

Picture Butte: Shirley Kiffiak, Elaine King; Stavely: Gordon Carlson, Ian Sundquist; Vauxhall: Doug Leong, Audrey Orsten

Villages – Champion: Racille Ellis, Marilyn Wolfe; Coutts: Russ Barrows, Emma Hulit; Cowley: Donna Cisar, Jim Cisar; Lomond: Denise McCallum, Brayden Shepherd

“It is important to recognize those who make quiet contributions to our communities and I wanted to use my position as an elected senator to work with each of Alberta’s communities to find exceptional individuals,” the senator explains in a release.

Not all communities submitted nominations, he adds.

“Canada is the best country in the world and that reputation starts from the ground up with the important but often quiet actions individuals take to improve life in their communities every single day,” he said.

“These actions deserve acknowledgment and I wanted to find a small way I could help advance their recognition.”

Follow @DMabellHerald on Twitter

Share this story:
You have 7 free stories left to read this month. Subscribe Now & get unlimited access

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.