May 20th, 2018

YWCA names 2018 Women of Distinction

By Mabell, Dave on February 14, 2018.

Lethbridge Herald

Nine southern Albertans will be honoured as this year’s Women of Distinction.

Their names have been released by the Lethbridge and District YWCA, in advance of its awards banquet in early March.

Lethbridge College president Paula Burns has been selected for the Lifetime Achievement award, with Tania Stilson named for the Leadership and Management award.

Two women, Amanda Bauer and Jennifer Takahashi, will receive the Community Leadership and Enhancement recognition. Two more, Silvana Campus and Elma Guinto, will be presented Education and Mentorship awards.

Renae Barlow has been named winner of the Entrepreneurship and Innovation award, while Tara Lennox will be recognized for Wellness, Recreation and Healthy Living.

This year’s Young Woman of Promise award will be presented to Imogen Pohl.

“On behalf of the board of directors, I am honoured to be able to celebrate amazing women who are contributing to the community in such a positive way,” says YWCA board co-chair Jaylene Ulmer.

“Through personal, professional and volunteer endeavours, these recipients truly demonstrate the significant impact one person can have on the lives of many.”

Tickets for the awards ceremony, set for March 9 at the Lethbridge Lodge, are available through the website.

Share this story:
You have 4 free stories left to read this month. Subscribe Now & get unlimited access


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.