June 22nd, 2018

A list of the 40 albums on the Polaris Music Prize long list

By The Canadian Press on June 14, 2018.

Arcade Fire celebrates their Juno for Album of the year at the Juno Awards in Vancouver on March 25, 2018. Rising R&B singer Daniel Caesar's debut, the latest effort by Arcade Fire, and a posthumous work from Gord Downie are among the long-listed albums for the Polaris Music Prize. The juried award for best Canadian album of the year was narrowed down to 40 contenders who could qualify for the short list revealed next month. Among the projects named is "Everything Now," the disco-rock social statement released last year by Arcade Fire, who previously won the Polaris for "The Suburbs" in 2011. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward

The Polaris Music Prize has unveiled the 40 Canadian albums that qualified for its long list of standout projects.

The titles will progress to the next stage of consideration by a jury of journalists, broadcasters and bloggers, with the short list of 10 albums revealed on July 17.

Here’s which albums made the Polaris long list:

Allie, “Nightshade”

Alvvays, “Antisocialites”

Arcade Fire, “Everything Now”

Bahamas, “Earthtones”

The Barr Brothers, “Queens of the Breakers”

Bernice, “Puff LP: In the Air Without a Shape”

Jean-Michel Blais, “Dans ma main”

Bonjay, “Lush Life”

Booji Boys, “Weekend Rocker”

Philippe Brach, “Le silence des troupeaux”

Cadence Weapon, “Cadence Weapon”

Daniel Caesar, “Freudian”

Jennifer Castle, “Angels of Death”

Clairmont The Second, “Lil Mont from The Ave”

Gord Downie, “Introduce Yerself”

Jeremy Dutcher, “Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa”

Faith Healer, “Try ;-)”

FRIGS, “Basic Behaviour”

Zaki Ibrahim, “The Secret Life of Planets”

Iskwe, “The Fight Within”

Kacy & Clayton, “The Siren’s Song”

Lydia Kepinski, “Premier Juin”

Pierre Kwenders, “Makanda at the End of Space, the Beginning of Time”

Pierre Lapointe, “La science du coeur”

Melissa Laveaux, “Radyo Siwel”

Hubert Lenoir, “Darlene”

Terra Lightfoot, “New Mistakes”

Loud, “Une annee record”

Milk & Bone, “Deception Bay”

Partner, “In Search Of Lost Time”

Propagandhi, “Victory Lap”

Vivek Shraya & Queer Songbook Orchestra, “Part-Time Woman”

Sloan, “12”

Snotty Nose Rez Kids, “The Average Savage”

U.S. Girls, “In A Poem Unlimited”

The Weather Station, “The Weather Station”

Weaves, “Wide Open”

Charlotte Day Wilson, “Stone Woman”

Donovan Woods, “Both Ways”

Yamantaka // Sonic Titan, “Dirt”

Share this story:


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.