December 5th, 2020

Mahon to chair COPPOA executive committee

By Jensen, Randy on October 31, 2020.


The presidents of the University of Lethbridge and Lethbridge College have been appointed to the new executive committee for the Council of Post-Secondary Presidents of Alberta (COPPOA).

University of Lethbridge president and vice-chancellor Mike Mahon has been named chair of the COPPOA while Lethbridge College president and CEO Paula Burns has been appointed vice-chair, Shared Services.

Rounding out the executive committee are: Annette Trimbee,MacEwan University, vice-chair, Policy; Robert Murray, Grande Prairie Regional College, vice-chair, Advocacy and Stakeholder Relations; Gerry Turcotte, St. Mary’s University, vice-chair, Member Relations; and David Ross, Southern Alberta Institute of Technology, Treasurer.

Mahon believes post-secondary institutions across Alberta share many similar challenges – especially in times of fiscal restraint, but that the sector is well positioned to support Alberta’s economic recovery.

“Our ongoing work will develop strategic approaches to systemic issues that will help inform government policy and foster collaborative operational approaches across our system,” said Mahon in a news release. “Our members are well positioned to support future economic growth in all of Alberta’s regions and collectively for the entire province.”

COPPOA is an organization comprised of the presidents of Alberta’s 26 post-secondary institutions. It serves as an integral collaborative body representing post-secondary institutions throughout the province. With valuable input from the smallest rural colleges to the largest comprehensive universities, COPPOA provides a forum for discussion and advocacy on matters of importance to the post-secondary sector as a whole.

Share this story:

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x