October 21st, 2020

SAHSVL hands out MVP and All-Star awards

By Woodard, Dale on November 15, 2019.

Lethbridge Herald

The Southern Alberta High School Volleyball League handed out its most valuable player and all-star awards Wednesday night at Catholic Central East campus.

Winning this year’s most valuable player award for the varsity boys was LCI Rams setter David Kindley, while Taryn Bach of the Chinook Coyotes was the varsity girls’ MVP.

Shane Orr of the Magrath Zeniths was chosen as the Varsity Coach of the Year. Ken Baker of Magrath won the boys Junior Varsity Coach of the Year. On the girls side, Catholic Central Cougars coach Chris Goruk was named the Varsity Coach of the Year. Janelle Gibson, also of CCH was selected as the Junior Varsity Coach of the Year.

Named First Team Boys All-Stars were Jack Harding (Winston Churchill), Kyle Elgersma (Immanuel Christian), Jesse Miller (Magrath Zeniths), Tanner Folden (LCI), Isaac Atwood (Cardston), Colton Finck >(Magrath) and Erik Godwin (LCI).

Ben Atwood (Cardston), Hayden Devoy (Catholic Central), Nathan Hall (Immanuel Christian), Matthew Hamilton (LCI), Joseph Van Bruggen >(Magrath), Jacob Sargent >(Chinook) and Cole Hemmerling (Chinook) were named to the boys Second All-Star Team.

On the girls’ side, Olivia Roest (Catholic Central), Renae Csurka (LCI), Hattie Ogden (Magrath), Charlotte Perry (Catholic Central), Lauren Wolsey (Cardston), Charlotte Vanden Elzen (Catholic Central) and Eryka Woods (Chinook) were selected as First Team All-Stars, while Jill Leishman (Cardston), Lindsey Zarowni (Chinook), Sierra Harms (Chinook), Bailey Kutsch (LCI), Jada Hamer (Catholic Central), Drew Dortman (Catholic Central) and Kyra Collier (Raymond) were named to the Second All-Star team.

Share this story:


Comments are closed.