January 15th, 2021

Oczkowski captures Football Alberta award

By Yoos, Cam on May 15, 2020.


Football Alberta announced its year-end awards for the 2019 season on Thursday, and a Lethbridge coach was among those honoured.

Veronica Oczkowski, of the Lethbridge Jr. Bantam Cougars, has been named the Novice Coach of the Year.

In her second year of coaching, Oczkowski has made an impression on the Cougars’ program. After spending 2018 instructing the quarterbacks for their pee wee team, Oczkowski moved up to the bantam Cougars in 2019 with the same duties. The results were impressive as the Cougar quarterbacks averaged 177 passing yards a game with a 54 per cent completion average and 2.2 touchdowns a game.

The Cougars led the Southern Alberta Minor Football Association in passing yardage and their quarterback was named Rookie of the Year in Division B. All of this was done while Oczkowski was still operating as the starting quarterback of the Lethbridge Steel of the WWFL.

Other Football Alberta award winners were Dave Bleile of Grande Prairie as official of the year; John Flynn of the Sylvan Lake Bears as atom/pee wee coach of the year; Greg Wilson of the Calgary Wildcats as bantam coach of the year; Kelly Starling of the Willow Creek Cobras in Claresholm as Tier IV coach of the year; Chad Hill of the Sturgeon Spirits as Tier III coach of the year; Matt Hassett of Holy Trinity Academy Knights in Okotoks as Tier II coach of the year; Cody Ehrmann of Henry Wise Wood Warriors as Tier I coach of the year; and Tyler Greenslade of Harry Ainlay Titans as the Norm Kimball Coach of the Year.

; and Kirsten Olsen and Dwayne Mandrusiak as Football Alberta volunteers of the year.

Share this story:


Comments are closed.