January 16th, 2021

Lethbridge Speed Skating Association doles out awards

By Woodard, Dale on June 13, 2020.

Lethbridge Herald

The Lethbridge Speed Skating Association handed out their awards in unique fashion to end another season on the ice.

The LSSA doled out its 2019-2020 awards virtually this year in a season that ended three weeks early due to the COVID 19 pandemic.

The awards were dropped off – while respecting physical distancing protocols – to the winners at the end of May.

The LSSA’s Skater of the Year award was a shared honour as Jonnathan McIntosh and Mikka Eaves got the nod.

Zosia Adelman has named as the Most Outstanding Female Skater, while the Most Outstanding Male Skater was a tie between Zak Adelman and Braeden Kremenik

Riley Vanderburgh and Marie Cormier were selcted as the Male and Female Most Improved Skaters, respectively, while Jasmine Belisle won the Sportsmanship Award.

Winning this year’s Rookie of the Year award was Cooper Jensen.

Hans Wesseling and Rayel Green was named as the Volunteer of the Year.

The award for Most Improved in the FUNDamental Level was a three-way tie between Donovan Ellison, Claire Peake and Rachel Peake as was the Most Improved in the L2T Level with Lincoln Eaves, Zoe Wesseling and Gavin Ogilvie earning the honour.

Share this story:


Comments are closed.