January 21st, 2021

Art of Giving – The Mayor’s Celebration for Business and the Arts set for Sept. 10

By Jensen, Randy on August 20, 2020.


The annual Art of Giving – The Mayor’s Celebration for Business and the Arts, formerly the Mayor’s Luncheon for Business and the Arts, will be broadcast live from Casa, celebrating and recognizing the important relationship between the municipal government, business and the arts community. The Art of Giving will be presented live on Sept. 10 at 7 p.m. on Shaw Channel 9 and YouTube.

This year marks the 15th year of the event. Following AHS COVID-19 restrictions, the Allied Arts Council moved the event online, with an arts showcase while recognizing individuals, organizations and businesses that have contributed to the vibrancy of the arts in the community through the presentation of awards.

In addition to the annual awards, the hour-long arts showcase will feature performances by some of Lethbridge’s most well-known performing artists, including Gabriel Thane (singer/songwriter), Catherine McLaughlin (dancer), Claire Lint (dancer), and John Wort Hannam (singer/songwriter).

The Italian Table has curated an add-on package to order in advance and enjoy while watching the show. For $70 (plus GST), attendees can order a choice of appetizer, two desserts and a bottle of wine for two people. Additional details, including food selections, costs and order pick up, can be found online at bit.ly/The-Art-of-Giving.

Attendees can register for their viewing link for the event visiting bit.ly/The-Art-of-Giving.

The 2020 award recipients include:

Allied Arts Council Aspiring Artist Award: Introduced in 2019, the award recognizes a young artist, in the Grades 9 through 12, in the Lethbridge region who is working to advance and enhance the arts in Lethbridge. The award has a value of $1,000 and is intended to support and encourage artistic work. Janelle Wipf is a pianist and vocalist dedicated to becoming a well-rounded musician. She is self-motivated, engaged, creative and a leader among her peers at CCH and the University of Lethbridge Conservatory of Music.

Allied Arts Council Young Artist Award: Recognizes a young artist in the Lethbridge region who is working to advance and enhance the arts in Lethbridge. The award has a value of $1,000 and is intended to support and encourage artistic work. Nole Richardson is a theatre designer and technician. Passionate about the Lethbridge theatre scene, Nole’s creativity and devotion to his art and theatre in Lethbridge make him deserving of the Allied Arts Council Young Artist Award.

Allied Arts Council Excellence (AACE) Awards: Recognizes a person who had made philanthropic contributions to an organization and thereby enhanced the entire arts community. John and Lynn Gilliat, nominated by the Lethbridge Symphony, are being recognized for their contributions to the arts community through their significant volunteer work with the Lethbridge Symphony and the former Lethbridge Youth Strings Association. John and Lynn have performed with the Lethbridge Symphony for 40 years; John has served on the Lethbridge Symphony’s Artistic Committee and board of directors for several years; and through the Lethbridge Youth Strings Association, provided many young string players with the opportunity to learn and perform in string ensembles.

AACE Business Award: Recognizes a business in the community that has made outstanding philanthropic contributions and thereby enhances the entire arts community. This year’s recipient is North & Company LLP. North & Company, nominated by the Allied Arts Council and SAAG, is being recognized for its continuous sponsorship support for both organizations over the past 15 years.

AACE Service Organization Award: Recognizes a club, service organization or non-for-profit group that has contributed to the Lethbridge community through the arts. The Helen Schuler Nature Centre, nominated by the Allied Arts Council, is being recognized for its efforts in engaging artists in their community exhibition space, providing opportunities for artists to install in the nature reserve and worked with the Public Art Committee on both a significant installation and small project grants.

Joan Waterfield Memorial Award: Is awarded each year to a deserving recipient who is recognized by their contemporaries for advancing and enhancing the arts in Lethbridge. Mary-Lynn Muhly, nominated by Lethbridge Musical Theatre, is this year’s Joan Waterfield Memorial Award recipient. Mary-Lynn has been a pillar for Lethbridge’s theatre community, serving in various positions such as a props mistress, set dresser, assistant stage manager, stage crew, and recently, director. Mary-Lynn has also served many years on the boards for Lethbridge Shakespeare Performance Society, Playgoers of Lethbridge and Lethbridge Musical Theatre.

Share this story:


Comments are closed.