July 16th, 2024

Ceremony welcomes new president to U of L

By Lethbridge Herald on October 14, 2023.

Digvir Jayas is presented as seventh president and vice-chancellor during an installation ceremony Friday afternoon at the 1st Choice Savings Centre at the University of Lethbridge. Herald photo by Alejandra Pulido-Guzman

Alejandra Pulido-Guzman – LETHBRIDGE HERALD – apulido@lethbridgeherald.com

The University of Lethbridge officially welcomed Digvir Jayas as their seventh president and vice-chancellor during an installation ceremony Friday afternoon. 

Jayas began his term as the University of Lethbridge’s seventh president and vice-chancellor on July 1. 

An accomplished researcher and former Tier I Canada Research Chair in Stored-Grain Ecosystems, Jayas is also a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, and in 2018 was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada for his advancements to agricultural practices worldwide, and for his promotion of academic and scientific research in Canada. In June, he was named the 2023 recipient of the Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Excellence in Public Administration in Manitoba.

During the ceremony vice-provost of Iniskim relations, Leroy Little Bear performed an honour song and welcomed Jayas with a few words. 

Governments officials, representatives of multiple universities and colleges from across the country, alumni, and members of the U of L, among others were in attendance and presented greetings to Jayas on behalf of their respective organizations. 

Member of Parliament Rachel Thomas welcomed Jayas and presented greetings on behalf of the government of Canada, Minister of Advanced Education Rajan Sawhney spoke on behalf of the government of Alberta, NDP Lethbridge West MLA Shannon Phillips spoke on behalf of the Alberta Legislative Assembly, Councillor Mark Campbell spoke on behalf of the city of Lethbridge, Board Chair Dean Gallimore spoke on behalf of the University of Lethbridge Board of Governors, Chancellor Terry Whitehead spoke on behalf of the Senate, Deirdre McKenna spoke on behalf of the University of Lethbridge Alumni Association and Lethbridge College president Brad Donaldson spoke on behalf of the colleges across the province. 

During the ceremony Jayas was introduced by chair of the board of governors Dean Gallimore and the university singers proceeded to sing Oki. 

After the introduction, Jayas was welcomed by multiple members of the university including the General Faculties Council and Dean’s Council, students union, university of Lethbridge Faculty Association and Exempt Support staff. 

Jayas was presented with a headdress by elder in residence Francis First Charger before addressing those in attendance.

Share this story:

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments