January 16th, 2021

1975 Native Sons to be inducted into Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame

By Nick Kuhl on January 4, 2020.

The 1974-75 Lethbridge Y’s Men’s Native Sons are one of eight 
inductees announced Thursday for the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame Class 
of 2020.
The announcement was made by Hockey Alberta at the Scotiabank 
Saddledome in Calgary.
It was a storybook season for the Native Sons, who were made up of all 
local players, who captured the gold medal at the 1975 Canada Winter 
Games and the Alberta Junior B provincial championship.
The Winter Games gold medal win came against Nova Scotia in front of 
5,000 fans at the Canada Games Sportsplex on Feb. 23, 1975. The Native 
Sons’ overall record that season was 66 wins, six losses and one tie.
The team members included: goal — Gary Warner and Garry Clark; 
defence — Dennis Hatt, Dave Hougan, Darrell Osmond, Randy Lowe, Ken 
Klinkhammer and Gordie Gejdos; forward — Mark Scheibner, Joe Meli, 
Glen Scheibner, Greg Kveder, Albert Dumont, Terry Roberts, Ron 
Simmons, Reg Osmond, Dwayne Howell, Gino Guzzi and Vic Stasiuk Jr.
The team was coached by Howie Yanosik and assistant Jerry LeGrandeur 
while Hans DeGroot was the manager and Peter Vanderhilt was the 
trainer. Equipment manager was Darren Visosky.
Other 2020 Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame inductees include:
• Bill Bucyk — linesman, referee and leader who skated in the World 
Hockey Association and internationally, and helped train some of the 
longest-serving officials in the NHL;
• Cassie Campbell-Pascall — former captain of the Canadian National 
Women’s hockey team, two-time Olympic gold medallist, and six-time 
world champion, national and international broadcaster;
• Bob Clark — the first Minister of Youth in Alberta, and the 
face of Junior A hockey in Alberta with the Olds Grizzlys and the 
Alberta Junior Hockey League;
• John Davidson — outstanding NHL goaltender, award-winning 
broadcaster, and respected front office executive who currently is 
president of the New York Rangers. Davidson was also a former member 
of the Lethbridge Sugar Kings;
• Dr. Randy Gregg — a five-time Stanley Cup champion with the 
Edmonton Oilers and two-time CIAU champion;
• Ken Hitchcock — Stanley Cup champion NHL head coach, and three-
time Olympic gold medallist with Team Canada over a more than 40-year 
coaching career; and
• Jamie Macoun — two-time Stanley Cup champion during a 17-year 
career with Calgary, Toronto and Detroit, and two-time World 
Championships silver medallist.

Share this story:

Comments are closed.