January 19th, 2021

Native Sons get Hall recognition

By Woodard, Dale on July 22, 2020.

Lethbridge Herald

The Lethbridge Native Sons have scored some provincial recognition.

The Native Sons hockey team was inducted into the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame 2020 Induction Class Sunday.

The team, along with seven individual recipients, were honoured at this year’s induction banquet in Canmore.

The Native Sons were hometown heroes at the 1975 Canada Winter Games in Lethbridge. They were also the Alberta Junior B provincial champions.

The Native Sons finished the 1974-75 season with a 31-2 regular-season record and were undefeated in 12 league playoff games.

Lethbridge was made up of goaltenders Gary Warner and Garry Clark and defencemen Dennis Hatt, Dave Hougan, Darrell Osmond, Randy Lowe, Ken Klinkhammer and Gordie Gejdos.

Up front, the Natives Sons had Mark Scheibner, Joe Meli, Glen Scheibner, Greg Kveder, Albert Dumont, Terry Roberts, Ron Simmons, Reg Osmond, Dwayne Howell, Gino Guzzi and Vic Stasiuk at forward.

The team was coached by Howie Yanosik and assistant coach Jerry LeGrandeur.

Rounding out the staff was manager Hans DeGroot, trainer Pete Vanderhilt and equipment manager Darren Visosky.

The Canada Winter Games were held from Feb. 11-23, 1975 and while Lethbridge was the host, games were held in 12 communities around southern Alberta.

More than 4,000 local volunteers helped out at the event.

Alberta won 14 gold medals at the Games, including the Native Sons 6-3 win over Nova Scotia in the final in front of 5,000 fans on Feb. 23.

Share this story:

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

As a member of the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame myself , I would like to congratulate all the inductees.