June 24th, 2024

High school volleyball league hands out awards

By Justin Seward - Lethbridge Herald on November 16, 2022.

The Southern Alberta High School Volleyball League handed out their awards last night.

Catholic Central’s Brooke Beste won the MVP award for the girl’s league.

First Team All-Star awards went to LCI’s Mishynn Miller, Peyton Smith and Kallynne Klimpke, Chinook’s Cianna Chalack and Robyn Austin, Catholic Central’s Hadlee Fleischhauer and WR Myers Lexi Gedny.

Second Team All-Stars included Jayda Morrison and Teagan Flexhaug from Winston Churchill, Reese Gurney of Magrath, Cardston’s Taylor Heninger, Chinook’s Ciara Meadows, St. Mary’s Samantha Pacleb and Reese Carriere from Kate Andrews.

Kale Orr of Magrath took home the MVP honour on the boys side.

First Team All-Star honours went to Kate Andrews’ Ben Dyck and Karl Petker, LCI’s Owen Thompson, Matt Payne from Magrath, Chinook’s Marshall Qually, Catholic Central’s Matt Reiter and Gabe Rahn from Medicine Hat.

The Second Team All-Star awards went Cade Harrison and Landon Shaw from Medicine Hat, Sawyer MacKenzie from LCI, Cardston’s Ryan Zemp, Ben Northgrave out of Catholic Central, Kate Andrews’ Carson Bartsch and Magrath’s Luke Jacobs.

Coaches of the year went to Shane Orr of Magrath for senior boys, LCI’s Derek Usman in senior girls, Chinook junior boys’ Bari Ipaa and Megan Orr for Magrath junior girls.

The award winners come on the heels of both Magrath teams winning league championships over the weekend.

Share this story:

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments