April 18th, 2024

Meneghin wins team MVP award

By Lethbridge Herald on March 26, 2024.

Herald Photo by Justin Seward Lethbridge Hurricanes goaltender Harrison Meneghin was the recipient of the team MVP award during the team awards ceremony on Friday night.

By Justin Seward

Lethbridge Herald

To no one’s surprise , Lethbridge Hurricanes goaltender Harrison Meneghin was the recipient of the Harry Ingarfield Memorial Award as the team’s MVP during a pre-game awards ceremony on Friday night at the Enmax Centre.

Meneghin has been solid between the pipes all the season having a posted a record of 27-20-5-0 in 53 starts, while compiling a .919 save percentage and 2.59 GAA.

“It’s a cool award, but it’s just a team award (and)  it’s a good  feeling to have,” said Meneghin.

Meneghin has been happy with the way he has played this year.

“It was a good regular season for me,” said Meneghin.

“I think kind of the  playoffs will really decide how I feel about  my season because everything kind of leads up to this moment. So we’ll see. But yeah like just the hard work we put in off the ice and on the ice kind of gives you moments like that where you can get an award like that.”

Forward Logan Wormald said it was amazing, when asked about Meneghin receiving the MVP award.

“He’s been a superstar all year and I’d say even the backbone of our team sometimes,”

 said Wormald.

“So yeah that’s huge for him, we’re really happy for him and glad he was awarded that award.”

Forward Kooper Gizowski thought of “unreal” when he was asked about Meneghin getting the award.

“I mean that guy’s not just kept us in games, but I think he’s won us games for sure,” said Gizowski.

Head coach Bill Peters said Harry started the year off outstanding and continued it.

“He’s had a really good year,” said Peters.

“It’s a very valuable position in our sport obviously (and) no different than the quarterback in football. They take a lot of heat when things go wrong and they get  a lot of praise when things go right. So he’s well deserved of the honour, but I think we also had some other guys that are in that conversation.”

Meneghin also took home the Three Stars award for being voted as a star 18 times this season.

Noah Chadwick and Trae Wilke shared the Scholastic Players award.

Chadwick won the Top Defenceman award, Rookie of the Year went to Landen Ward, Brayden Edwards was the Hardest Working player, Miguel Marques was the Fan Favourite, the Community Relations Award went to Joe Arntsen and Logan McCutcheon won the Joan Kobal Memorial Award for his perseverance, dedication and sportsmanship,  

Share this story:

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x