July 21st, 2024

Alexander, Lehman named U of L’s athletes of the year

By Lethbridge Herald on April 12, 2024.

University of Lethbridge Photo Pronghorn women’s swimmer Delaney Lehman capped off an incredible year by being named the Female Athlete of the Year this week.

University of Lethbridge Pronghorn Athletics recognized the excellence of their athletes earlier week at the annual Blue and Gold Awards Ceremony and some athletes spoke about their awards on Thursday during a media availability.

Swimmer Delaney Lehman  won the Female Athlete of the Year.

Lehman won a silver medal in the 50-metre breaststroke and bronze in the 400-metre Freestyle Relay at Canada West Championships.

Her performances got more impressive during the year as she  shattered six Pronghorn swimming records and two of which were in the 50-metre freestyle and 50-metre backstroke events and the rest were in relays.

She finished in a top 10 position  in to the 50m backstroke at the USports Championships and appeared all four individual event finals.

“It was quite an incredible experience,” said Lehman.

“I wasn’t really expecting it with the year that I had, but it was definitely one of the most incredible years of my life, winning second at Canada West in the 50-metre breaststroke after like a long time of knee recoveries.”

A highlight of the season for her was seeing the women’s team come in third at Canada West.

“We’ve definitely grown together as a team and our swimming environment has definitely grown,” said Lehman.

The Male Athlete of the year went to graduating men’s swimmer Chris Alexander.

For the second consecutive year, he captured the gold medal in the 50-metre backstroke at the USports Championship.

He took home gold in the 50m backstroke and silver in the 100m back at Canada West Championships

He is now considered the most decorated  Pronghorn Swimmer with his six USports medals and 10 Canada West medals.

Pronghorn Women’s basketball coach Dave Waknuk won the inaugural Coach of the Year Award.

The award was created by U of L Chancellor, Terry Whitehead, and goes to a coach that display dedication and excellence in Pronghorn Athletics.

“I’m very humbled by it,” said Waknuk.

“It’s a great idea to honour the coaches here, we have some of the best coaches around at the university. So I’m just really humbled by the chance to get the award and to be honoured by everybody here … it means a lot.”

Waknuk has led the team to a playoff berth in four of the last five seasons and got the most wins in a season since the 1993-1994.

“Throughout his tenure as head coach of women’s basketball, he has consistently fostered progress and camaraderie within the program, earning the admiration and respect of their players,” as read in a release.

The full list of award winners can be found in the online story at www. lethbridgeherald.com.

The Pronghorns Gala and Cabaret is on April 18 at the Science Commons Atrium beginning at 5 p.m.

The night will feature Dueling Pianos Cal Toth and Anna McBryan.

Tickets can be purchased at gohorns.ca/gala and all the proceeds go back into Pronghorn Athletics.

Share this story:


Comments are closed.